8/7/18 | Daily Bread

“Give us this day our daily bread.”
Matthew 6:11 NLT

It was our first few months in Colorado, and although it was difficult for me, it was a world of pain for my husband, Luke. He had a boss that tore him to pieces daily.

It was so hard to watch. So hard to control my anger.

On top of it, we had two vehicles with phantom issues. We had no one to help us and no money for a mechanic, so it was on Luke’s shoulders to fix them.

I had my own stresses to contend with as well. We went through so much change in such a short amount of time.

This was the first time in my life I started getting up with the sun to desperately seek God. We had a spare bedroom in our apartment, and it became a safe place for me. One of the first verses that jumped out to me during that time was give us this day our daily bread. I badly needed Jesus to know what was going on and that I was relying on him. It was he alone that could give me enough to get me through each day.

What that new routine did was something really cool – it opened my eyes to see how he was working. As he worked and provided all that I needed each day, I increasingly gained confidence in him and his ability to provide. I began to trust him.

Just think about this: This is one of the lines that Jesus himself instructs us to pray – give us this day our daily bread. Think on that this week, and take it into consideration in all that comes up.

2 thoughts on “8/7/18 | Daily Bread”

Leave a comment